Castle cake for the twins

February 26, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

This is special cake i made for my son’s friends.

And since they are twins i had to figure out how to make one cake suitable for the girl and the boy 🙂

I’ve been planning to make little Vetle and Tilde since start on 🙂 but the rest of the design came on spot.

I was actually planning to make this cake differently.

The first cake is lemon cake with lemon cream filling.

The second cake is chocolate cotton cake with oreo buttercream filling.

The towers are also lemon cake.

Ombre cake

February 26, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

It is 6 layers of vanilla cake in pink shades.

The frosting is swiss meringue buttercream also in pink shades.

My son said, it looks like paper flowers 🙂

The sun cake

February 26, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

This cake is for my son 🙂

He’s 8 today, yippiee yay!

The cakes are rich marble cakes made out of a lot of egg yolks because i had made swiss meringue buttercream prior and i did not want to throw away the yolks 🙂

It is very moist, very rich.

He saw that sun cake in my Debbie Brown’s decorating book and he said he wanted that cake. So i made something similar to it, not exactly the same though but i think it looks cute  🙂

For this cake i had some designs on my mind, the first cake was planned to have graffiti and kids drawing on it but then i changed my mind, i think it should be more “nature” look 🙂

The Diva

February 26, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had really fun when i make this one. She wants something very girly and i instantly thought of diva and the 60’s (i don’t know why).

I was happy when she said i could do whatever i want 😀 😀

So here it is. Pretty i think.

The cakes are japanese honey cake with vanilla cream filling.

The plaquette is handpainted with black food color.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rapunzel!

February 26, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think this is my 3rd biggest cake i have ever made 🙂

When i agreed to make it, i was so excited, it is a challenge for me to be able to make such cake.

The tower is made out of pastillage (yeah, it is heavy) 😀

The cakes are vanilla cake with strawberry cream filling then covered with fondant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the close up of the poor Rapunzel 🙂

Hokkaido chiffon cupcakes

February 26, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are Hokkaido chiffon cupcakes with bavarian cream filling and swiss meringue buttercream frosting.

I made the cupcake skirt myself 🙂 I think they are pretty 😀

Thomas the train cake

February 26, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t remember what the cakes are 😦

They are covered with rolled fondant, the train was handmade.